Ms Else Shepherd, Matthew B. Thompson and Hon. Geoff Wilson - ATSE Young Science Ambassador

ATSE Young Science Ambassador Award

The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) has selected me as a Young Science Ambassador.  Selected on personal qualities and scholarly excellence, Ambassadors engage in a number of science promotion activities such as visiting and giving lectures to schools, meeting parliamentarians and addressing Academy Fellows. These awards aim to encourage talented young scientists and engineers who are currently engaged in research and development to promote science and science education.

Awards were presented at ‘Science in Parliament’ by Ms Else Shepherd (former Chair of the Queensland Division of ATSE), Professor Peter Andrews (Queensland Chief Scientist) and Hon. Geoff Wilson (Minister for Education and Training). I will use my prize money to travel to regional areas in Queensland to share my passion for science with young people.